To: Mr and Mrs We Didn’t Work Out

You and I were like fire and ice

I came in and you tried to be oh so nice

Love was foreign to us both

So we looked at our affection like it was an uncomfortable growth

There were moments where you and I felt as warm as a summer breeze

And others where we were both crying down on our knees

I think of you still some nights when the ghosts keep me up

And I pray someone takes a moment to fill what I took from your cup

And should I have left you in pieces I pray someone finds beauty

And glues you together with gold and their initials in kanji

But should I have irreparably broken pieces that were never mine to shatter

May you find some solace in knowing that to me you’ll always matter

Cam, Caleb, Nathan, Max

More names under those tacks

I’m sorry I was broken and time I can’t take back

But

Maybe

I hurt you you hurt me because this world is full of forget me nots

We’ll carry each other in fondness even if only in our thoughts

There were times I was mad and felt like a victim

Where I’d do anything to delete you from my memory’s system

Holding onto every negative emotion

Like it was the anchor that controlled the ocean

Not only in love but with family and friends

I now see that a memory is where it all ends

So if you should find this I wanted to say

Even apart you’ll be with me always


Leave a comment



Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started